Chakras in Sahaja Yoga Meditation

There are innumerous tiny vital life forces whirling through the body, which are concentrated into centers called ChakrasChakra is a Sanskrit term that means wheel. They are named as wheels as energies spin at these points, rotating clockwise with certain frequencies or vibration. This system has a resemblance with galaxy of planets, each spinning on its own axis. The seven main Chakras are located along the spinal cord and are energized and felt after Self-Realization. This Chakras control various parts and organs of our body. Each Cahkra is designed to maintain the perfect operation of the bodily system under its control.


The Chakras are responsible for the well being of the human body. So it is important to understand the functioning of each chakra and also the factors, which disturb Chakra balancing. Every thought and action influences the sensitivity and performance of these chakra centers. To start with Chakra balancing in Sahaja Yoga meditation, one has to eliminate the gross negativity. This might take time but the result will be felt from the beginning. Once, Self-realization is achieved and the charkas are cleared, the source of all this information will be available.


Each subtle center inside a human being has projections on different parts of the bodies. For example if one feeling a tingling sensation on the left middle finger then there is an imbalance in the left aspect of the third Chakra or the Nabhi Chakra. On the other hand a cool and light sensation on the right thumb means the right aspect of the second Chakra or the Swadhisthana Chakra is in a balanced state. Thus the knowledge of Chakras and the associated organs governed by the charkas help one to realize all the obstacles inside that bring imbalance in the subtle system. To know more read:


Types of Yoga Mudra

Rudra Mudra
The Rudra Mudra strengthens the earth element and its organs. It is a good antidote for weakness. It should be practised with both hands for about five minutes three to six times a day.

  • The tips of the thumb, index finger and ring finger should be placed together.
  • The middle and index fingers should be relaxed and extended.

Dharmachakra Mudra
This is very significant and symbolic of turning the wheel. The hands form two wheels and in Hindu mythology the wheel signifies completion. The two wheels here indicate the teaching of reincarnation. The left middle finger (Saturn) represents the transition from this world into the next – from death and birth.

  • Raise both hands in front of the chest with the right hand higher than the left.
  • Join the thumbs and index fingers of each hand.
  • The palm of the left hand faces the heart and the back of the right hand faces the body.
  • The left middle finger touches the place where the thumb and index finger of the right hand form a closed circle.
  • While forming this Mudra, breathe deeply and slowly.

Varada Mudra
This Mudra indicates forgiveness and is quite common in Hindu mythology.

  • Place the left hand forward and downward with the open palm facing outward.
  • Place the right hand on the lap or thigh

Lotus Mudra
This Mudra belongs to the heart chakra and is the symbol for purity. It is good during times of loneliness and despair.

  • Put your hands together, the fingers vertical, relaxed and spread out.
  • The lower portion of the palms touch as well as the pads of the little fingers and thumbs.
  • If the hands are closed, they resemble the bud of a lotus flower.
  • When the hands open and the fingers spread out wide, it is akin to the lotus opening.
  • After four deep breaths, close both hands back into a bud and place the fingernails of the fingers of both hands on top of each other.
  • Then join the backs of the fingers, the backs of the hands and allow the hands to hang down for a while, all relaxed.
  • Bring the hands back into the bud position and the open flower.
  • Repeat several times.

To know more read:

Breathing Exercises For Handling Involuntary Release

Breathing is indeed one of the elementary bases in releasing the Kundalini. There are many variances of breathing exercises, depending on the function. The following are a few of the possibilities. It is advised to be careful, because more advanced breathing techniques may release Kundalini in uncontrollable ways.

Colour Breathing– One needs to sit or lie comfortably, making sure that the spine is upright. Firstly, one should begin to breathe into the entire body, feeling the breath enter each cell, then one should imagine that the body is filled with a red light (one needs to make it a red “with love” so it does not bring up old frustrations). This state should be held on for a few minutes, breathing into each cell, conscious of the vibrational quality within the system. Then one can release the red light and do the similar with orange, yellow, green, blue, purple and lavender (in that order). Eventually, one needs to fill the body with a radiant white light and meditate on the divine source. (The meditation can be diverged by centering on God, a spiritual being, the universe, the purpose of life or a spiritual verse or idea.) After completing the exercise, one should stretch the whole body.

Vibrational Breathing– Firstly, one should sit upright or lie contentedly, with the spine erect. Then, one should start breathing deeply, allowing the whole body and abdominal regions to project out. Firstly, one needs to fill the lower part of the chest with air, extending the abdomen slightly, then expanding the middle of the chest and finally the upper part of the chest. Then, one needs to inhale for seven counts; hold on for seven counts, exhale to the count of seven, and hold the breath out for seven counts. Then, it needs to be continued. One can synchronise the counting with the pulse beat; speed doesn’t matter as much as evenness and continuity.

If the chest scarcely moves during inhalation or exhalation, one can try consciously fighting it out while inhaling and pulling it in while exhaling. Many a person’s rib cage are so locked in by their muscle system, that it is complicated for them to take a good breath. As the rhythm gets rolling and the counting becomes automatic, one should become attentive of the pulse of the universe- it’s in and out movement- and its vibrational hum. One can also follow this exercise with open meditation. To know more read: